Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Yumi Zouma / Present Tense LP Clear Vinyl
On Sale

Yumi Zouma / Present Tense LP Clear Vinyl

Sale price Regular price
Yumi Zouma 'Present Tense' LP Clear Vinyl

Yumi Zouma’s Josh Burgess likens the band’s songwriting process to gardening, “Someone brings in a seed and through collaboration, it grows into a song that is vastly different from its original form.” Like any garden, this one requires dedicated tending, a practice that seems rather inconvenient if not straight-up difficult, since the four members live in disparate parts of the world – calling New York, London, and New Zealand home – but long-distance has always been a feature of their songwriting process, not a bug. Their new album, “Present Tense”, is the product of those efforts, there’s a defiance heard throughout “Present Tense”; a refusal to bend to what might seem fated, communicated not only through lyrics but in the boldness of these arrangements, metamorphosing between tracks without ever losing momentum

You might assume that while some artists have struggled to rethink their processes during a pandemic, Yumi Zouma would be perfectly suited to lockdown, but the opposite proved to be true. Without looming tour dates driving them to release new music, the prolific band found themselves at a standstill. So they set a date. By September 1st, 2021, the album needed to be finished, regardless of whether they’d be able to tour it or even meet to record together. Remote and in-person sessions in studios in Wellington, Florence, New York, Los Angeles, and London all played a role, and Yumi Zouma brought in new collaborators from different disciplines to broaden their sound.


A1 Give It Hell
A2 Mona Lisa
A3 If I Had The Heart For Chasing
A4 Where The Light Used To Lay
A5 Razorblade
B1 In The Eyes Of Our Love
B2 Of Me And You
B3 Honestly, It's Fine
B4 Haunt
B5 Astral Projection