Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Twerps / Twerps LP Vinyl
On Sale

Twerps / Twerps LP Vinyl

Regular price

Twerps 'Twerps' LP Vinyl

Melbourne jangle-meisters Twerps grow up on their self-titled debut album, tapping into an Australian pop timelessness that is deep and resonant.

Up til now, a large part of Twerps’ charm has been their rough edges. But now, with their self-titled debut album, there might just be a little bit of growing up going on. It’s definitely the biggest-sounding recording Twerps have ever done. Unlike their early manifestos, Twerps was recorded in a bona fide studio, with the help of engineer Jack Farley (Beaches, St Helens).

But it’s not just the sound, it’s the songs. Tracks like Through The Day and first single Dreamin contain instantly recognisably Twerps elements: the fascination with New Zealand’s 1980s Flying Nun era, as well as US bands like the Feelies and Galaxie 500. But they also contain a kind of Australian pop timelessness that harks back to the Go-Betweens, Paul Kelly and the Sunnyboys. This is something new for the band, and it’s deep and resonant.

Then there are the guest appearances, such as sweet harmonies from Super Wild Horses’ Hayley McKee and Amy Franz on Bring Me Down, and the rousing group chorale from members of Eddie Cur- rent Suppression Ring, Beaches, Panel Of Judges and others on Don‘t Be Surprised and Who Are You. Panel’s Dion Nania also contributes some keyboard and guitar flourishes across the album, while Peak Twins’ Joel Carey and Liam Kenny sing backup on Dreamin.

Co-release label Underwater Peoples was recently listed as one of the “50 best indie labels in America” by Billboard Magazine, and is home to releases by the likes of Real Estate and Mountain Man. The album follows a 2009 EP for Chapter, plus subsequent singles on Underwater Peoples and New York label Group Tightener, and a cassette for Iowa label Night People.


1. Dreamin'
2. Don't Be Surprsied
3. This Guy
4. Who Are You
5. Peculiar
6. Jam Song
7. Anything New
8. Bring Me Down
9. Grow Old
10. Through The Day
11. Coast To Coast