Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Throw Down Bones / Three 180g LP Ultra Clear Vinyl
On Sale

Throw Down Bones / Three 180g LP Ultra Clear Vinyl

Regular price

Throw Down Bones 'Three' 180g LP Ultra Clear Vinyl

Milan/London experimental band Throw Down Bones are returning with their new album ‘Three’ on February 24th. A towering body of work that feels both apocalyptic and jubilant, ‘Three’ is Throw Down Bones’ eagerly-awaited return following 2018’s ‘Two’ and the tragic passing of founding member Dave Cocks in a motorcycle accident in 2019. Choosing to continue the band in honour of Cocks, in February 2020, surviving co-founder Francesco Vanni returned to London’s New River Studios with long-term collaborator and producer James Aparicio (Spiritualized, Nick Cave) and a new band in tow, made up of bassist Marion Andrau and drummer Raphael Mura.

Working in the studio with the new band for the first time, several hours of improvised recordings were captured over the course of those early New River sessions, which were then expanded and pieced together between Aparicio in London and Vanni in Milan. Ready to lacerate eardrums and send into a trance once more, the result is a 9-track album spanning feedback-blasted industrial psychedelia, heavy electronics, krautrock and dark ambient. Overcoming huge psychological and practical difficulties, ‘Three’ is a powerful and moving record in more ways than one - a post-industrial triumph that’s at once hedonistic, cathartic and poignant.

Describing ‘Three’ and its intentions, Vanni says: “This album tries to reverse the usual band-listener interaction. We hold no truth and we're not willing to serve any universal answers to anything. Instead, we question the listener who, according to their experiences and sensitivity, will find a reply for themselves. That's the role of instrumental music and why we love it so much. It brings the listener to the centre of the project, giving them an active role in translating music into meaning. Every single note in this album is dedicated to our brother Dave Cocks.”