Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
The Stevens / Good LP Vinyl
On Sale

The Stevens / Good LP Vinyl

Regular price

The Stevens 'Good' LP Vinyl

Melbourne scratchy pop favourites the Stevens return with their second album Good.

Good picks up where their 2014 debut A History Of Hygiene left off – 18 short songs, alternately frenetic or laconic, packed with twists and hooks that merge lo-fi outsider songcraft with 70s prog wizardry and classic rock swagger.

The Stevens formed in 2011 around guitarists Alex Macfarlane (Twerps, Tyrannamen) and New Zealand-born Travis MacDonald, and were soon joined by bassist Gus Lord (Twerps, Boomgates, Tyrannamen) and drummer Matt Harkin.

In 2012, Chapter Music re-issued the band’s self-released debut EP, six insanely catchy guitar pop songs in 13 minutes. Then in late 2014 Chapter released A History Of Hygiene. The album was written up by the likes of Pitchfork and The Guardian, reviewed by Austin Brown of Parquet Courts for Talkhouse, and played on BBC6.

The Stevens toured the US in 2015, playing Memphis’ legendary Gonerfest on the back of killer single Thirsty Eye (included as the final track on Good) and getting to support their hero R Stevie Moore. In Australia they have played with Wire, Parquet Courts, Real Estate and more.

The Stevens recorded Good in their own Melbourne bedrooms/jam rooms throughout 2016, and once again employed the services of New Zealand mastering engineer Tex Houston, veteran of a thousand Flying Nun releases, to give it a fuzzy polish.

The tasteful sleeve is painted by the band’s own Travis MacDonald.


1. Chancer
2. Grandstands
3. King Hit
4. Escape From Party Island
5. Cruiser
6. Rosebud
7. Purple and Grey
8. Pulling All the Facts Together
9. Family Silver
10. My New Hideout
11. Keep Me Occupied
12. Furnace Town
13. Super Subtle
14. I Know (Charles and Jerry)
15. Taking The Piss
16. Good Co
17. Dole Wavers Will
18. Thirsty Eye