Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
The Sea And Cake / The Sea And Cake LP Vinyl
On Sale

The Sea And Cake / The Sea And Cake LP Vinyl

Regular price
The Sea And Cake 'The Sea And Cake' LP Vinyl

The Sea and Cake features Sam Prekop and Eric Claridge formerly of Shrimp Boat, Archer Prewitt of the Coctails and John McEntire, Tortoise. This self-titled debut offers a mix of jazzy rhythms and laid-back grooves perfect for slow days. Recorded by Brad Wood and Casey Rice ( Liz Phair) in September of '93 at Idful Studios. A classic essential for any fan and guaranteed to put you in a good mood.

“The Sea and Cake’s buoyant debut is a breath of fresh air, an utterly distinctive and innovative work that expands the scope of frontman Sam Prekop’s work in the great Shrimp Boat to incorporate a new fascination with Afro-Caribbean rhythms and textures. Recorded by Brad Wood, the album simply glows -- Prekop’s dry vocals and free-associative lyrics skip along a shimmering and lushly pastoral backdrop that nimbly fuses pop, soul, jazz, and even prog rock; tracks like “Jacking the Ball,” “Flat Lay the Water,” and “Showboat Angel” are as seductive as they are elusive.” - All Music


A1 Jacking The Ball
A2 Polio
A3 Bring My Car To Smash It
A4 Flat Lay The Water
A5 Choice Blanket
B1 Culabra Cut
B2 Bombay
B3 Showboat Angel
B4 So Long To The Captain
B5 Lost In Autumn