Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
The Cannanes / A Love Affair with Nature LP Picture Disc Vinyl
The Cannanes / A Love Affair with Nature LP Picture Disc Vinyl
On Sale

The Cannanes / A Love Affair with Nature LP Picture Disc Vinyl

Regular price

The Cannanes 'A Love Affair with Nature' LP Picture Disc Vinyl

Chapter Music is proud to announce a deluxe vinyl reissue of A Love Affair With Nature, the 1989 second album by Australian DIY icons The Cannanes. The reissue comes as a picture disc with new liner notes, an extensive PDF booklet and a full 13 digital bonus tracks from early singles and unreleased sessions.

Formed in Sydney in the mid 1980s, The Cannanes are one of the most celebrated underground bands of the Antipodes, with a book, a documentary and even a pair of limited edition Converse sneakers devoted to them. Over their 30 year career they have amassed 11 albums and innumerable singles on labels all around the world, and have toured the US, UK, Mexico, Japan and Europe repeatedly.

A Love Affair With Nature holds a special place in The Cannanes’ canon. After a series of early lineup shuffles, the band condensed into their classic core trio – drummer David Nichols, guitarist Stephen O’Neil and heartbreaking vocalist Fran Gibson. Each contributes songs that veer between insightful and absurd, conveying a 20-something inner-city existence that feels simultaneously fleeting and universal.

Initially self-released on coloured vinyl by the band, Love Affair was subsequently licensed by Chicago label Feel Good All Over (The Magnetic Fields, Dead C), with a CD version a few years later on another classic Chicago imprint, Ajax Records (Mountain Goats, David Kilgour). They began touring the US and UK regularly, becoming one of Kurt Cobain’s favourite bands (as mentioned in his diaries) and had further releases on quintessentially 90s labels such as K Records, Harriet and Little Teddy. Chapter released a split single in 1996 and their album Living The Dream in 2000, before signing back on for 2013’s Howling At All Hours, their first album in more than a decade.

Out of print and unavailable since the mid 90s, A Love Affair With Nature is the idiosyncratic Australian classic you always knew you would love, but had never been able to track down – until now!


1. I Woke Up
2. Take Me To the Hotel Johanna (And Let's Trash the Joint)
3. Sound Of the City
4. Nuisance
5. Seatbelt
6. Move Some Things Around
7. Paper Bag
8. 52 Linthorpe Street
9. Blue Skies Over the Ocean
10. Vivienne
11. I Think the Weather's Affected Your Brain
12. Cardboard
13. Don't Let Her Ruin Your Life
14. Robert
15. Woe
16. Stories To Be Kept Under Lock and Key
17. Countdown
18. Queen's Hotel
19. Paper Bag (Live)
20. 1990 (Single Version)
21. Looking Glass
22. Simon
23. Marco Polo Suite