Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Shiny Joe Ryan / Shiny’s Democracy LP Opaque Apple Red Vinyl
On Sale

Shiny Joe Ryan / Shiny’s Democracy LP Opaque Apple Red Vinyl

Regular price

Nicholas Allbrook 'Pure Gardiya' LP Vinyl

A mane of curly locks, a hilarious sense of humour, a lilting Irish brogue; Shiny Joe Ryan is a bit of an enigma. His musical offerings are as unique as he is - a mix of genres encompassing country, pop and rock, all mangled and mashed into something new, strange and tender.

Sometime during and between touring as crew for Tame Impala and performing with his band Pond, Joe wrote and recorded his second album Shiny's Democracy at Tunafish Studios in Western Australia.

Effortlessly mixed by Ryan and his Pond bandmates, Jay Watson and James Ireland, and
perfectly mastered by Kevin Parker, Shiny's Democracy flows from heartfelt Americana lyrics to heart-thumping guitar solos.

Shiny's Democracy opens with "I'm Singing a New Song", a track that will echo a main theme in the album: Shiny Joe Ryan is not to be put in a box. From humorous tracks like "Ketamine" to soulful ballads seen in "Dad's Hat", Shiny's Democracy is an album for anyone and everyone and a sign of a musician who wants to try everything once (or twice) with no plans of slowing down. You'll find glimpses of his contributions to his band Pond in songs like "I'm Getting Older", but Shiny Joe Ryan confidently carves a path all his own.

Written with a perfect balance of grit, wit, and expertly crafted instrumentals, this second album from Ryan will place Shiny Joe alongside Western Australian mainstays and mark his return from acclaimed 2014 album "The Cosmic Microwave Background".

180gm limited edition opaque apple red vinyl with poster insert and download card.

*Vinyl colour may differ to image.


A1        I'm Singing A New Song
A2        H20
A3        Dad's Hat
A4        100 Miles From Nowhere
A5        Ketamine
A6        If I Had Nothing
B1        Pub Boat
B2        I'm Getting Older
B3        Yes Song
B4        A Stitch In Time
B5        I'm Singing A New Song Pt. 2