Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Pixies / Pixies at the BBC, 1988 – 1991 3xLP Vinyl
Pixies / Pixies at the BBC, 1988 – 1991 3xLP Vinyl
On Sale

Pixies / Pixies at the BBC, 1988 – 1991 3xLP Vinyl

Regular price

Pixies 'Pixies at the BBC, 1988 – 1991' 3xLP Vinyl

Coinciding with a sold-out tour, Pixies at the BBC, 1988-91 is being released on March 8th via 4AD / Remote Control Records. This is being pressed on vinyl for the first time.

Between 1988 and 1991, Pixies recorded six sessions for the BBC, five for John Peel and one for Mark Goodier. Catching the raw energy of the band’s live performances, these sessions felt immediately noteworthy, time-stamping a moment when Black Francis, Kim Deal, Joey Santiago and David Lovering were motoring out front. 

Among the twenty-four tracks they recorded in this period (inc. two doubles - ‘Allison’ and ‘Wave of Mutilation’) are favourites from mini-album Come on Pilgrim and three of their four 4AD studio albums. Also recorded were three covers; reworks of The Beatles’ ‘Wild Honey Pie’, Eraserhead’s ‘(In Heaven) Lady in the Radiator Song’ and The Beach Boys’ ‘Hang On To Your Ego’, a track Black Francis covered a few years later on his debut Frank Black solo album. 

Originally released on CD in 1998, this reboot now sees all tracks from the six sessions included and presented in chronological order. Something fans have been asking for. Coming as both a triple black vinyl LP and double CD, the sleeve is also new with a wonderful black and gold design by Chris Bigg now adorning it. A design that really stands out, Chris pays loving tribute to the band’s late-visual director Vaughan Oliver, using unseen archival Pixies imagery by long-time collaborator Simon Larbalestier.


John Peel Session 3rd May 1988

A1 Levitate Me
A2 Hey
A3 In Heaven (Lady In The Radiator Song) 
A4 Wild Honey Pie 
A5 Caribou 

John Peel Session 9th October 1988

B1 Dead 
B2 Tame 
B3 There Goes My Gun 
B4 Manta Ray 

John Peel Session 16th April 1989

C1 Down To The Well 
C2 Into The White 
C3 Wave Of Mutilation 

John Peel Session 11th June 1990

D1 Allison
D2 Velouria 
D3 Hang On To Your Ego 
D4 Is She Weird

Mark Goodier Session 18th August 1990

E1 Monkey Gone To Heaven 
E2 Ana 
E3 Allison 
E4 Wave Of Mutilation 

John Peel Session 23rd June 1991

F1 Palace Of The Brine 
F2 Letter To Memphis 
F3 Motorway To Roswell 
F4 Subbacultcha