Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Evelyn Ida Morris / Self Titled 12" Vinyl
On Sale

Evelyn Ida Morris / Self Titled 12" Vinyl

Regular price

A number of these songs don’t have words, because Evelyn Ida Morris didn’t know how to say out loud what they were feeling.

The album represents a significant departure from the looping pop of Pikelet, for which Evelyn is best known. It builds on the structural complexity of that project, but focuses wholly on piano – huge, wild, racing, dexterous piano.

These new works are lush, postclassical compositions, frequently referencing Debussy and Ravel. Thematically, they deal with the experience of being non-binary and making sense of that experience. Evelyn uses they/them pronouns and does not identify as female or male.

“All of the songs happened really quickly, during a time when I was attempting to find clarity around my identity,” Evelyn says.

“I didn’t know what I was feeling when I started making this album. I had a whole lot of unresolved feelings about being non-binary and about what that meant in the world, and I guess the album was working through that on the piano.”

Evelyn says the album is about “the spaces I perceive between my body and everybody else’s body”. It is about the way living outside the gender binary is not one thing but everything: it shapes all encounters with the world and its structures.

1. Darwin Heat
2. The Body Appears
3. Wreck It
4. Limited Resources
5. Tamping It
6. Forecast
7. Today Is Warm
8. What To Give
9. My Holmes
10. Stop Driving
11. Downward
12. Jovial
13. Freckles