Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
De La Soul / AOI: Bionix 2xLP Vinyl
On Sale

De La Soul / AOI: Bionix 2xLP Vinyl

Regular price

De La Soul 'AOI: Bionix' 2xLP Vinyl

AOI: Bionix is De La Soul's sixth full length album, released on December 4, 2001.

The first single, "Baby Phat" featuring Yummy Bingham and Devin the Dude, was an ode to larger sized women. Elsewhere, "Held Down", featuring Cee-Lo, found Posdnuos in an introspective mood as he mused on fatherhood, religion, and fame. Slick Rick also made an appearance on "What We Do (For Love)"; a humorous song about puberty and sexual discovery.

The album featured skits with a character by the name of Reverend Do Good, which worked as social commentary as well as the intros and outros of the songs. The final Reverend Do Good skit acts as one final advertisement for Ghost Weed as heard on De La Soul's previous album, Art Official Intelligence: Mosaic Thump. A mischievous teenager takes a hit of the substance, then morphs into Slum Village frontman J Dilla, who provides the intro and outro to the marijuana-themed song "Peer Pressure" (which he also produced).

Track listing:

A1        Intro
A2        Bionix
A3        Baby Phat
A4        Simply
A5        Simply Havin

B1        Held Down
B2        Rev. Do Good #1
B3        Watch Out
B4        Special
B5        Rev. Do Good #2

C1        The Sauce
C2        Am I Worth You?
C3        Pawn Star
C4        What We Do (For Love)

D1        Rev. Do Good #3
D2        Peer Pressure
D3        It's American
D4        Trying People