Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
The Goon Sax / Up To Anything LP Magenta Vinyl
On Sale

The Goon Sax / Up To Anything LP Magenta Vinyl

Regular price

 Up To Anything is the debut album by Brisbane trio The Goon Sax.Louis Forster, James Harrison and Riley Jones are all 17-18 years old. They make pop music. They have refined tastes – they love the Pastels, Talking Heads, Galaxie 500, Bob Dylan and Arthur Russell. On Up To Anything they pull off the almost impossible, capturing the awkwardness, self-doubt and visceral excitement of teenage life, while still in the thick of actually living it.

The band formed around high school friends James and Louis in 2013, and some scrappy duo-era home recordings still linger on the internet. Riley joined in early 2014, after a month of drum lessons, and the band played their first show a few months later.

Chapter signed The Goon Sax in 2015 on the strength of an unsolicited demo, the first time that has ever happened in the label’s history. Sometimes Accidentally and Boyfriend have since been featured on the likes of Stereogum, NME, BBC6 and Brooklyn Vegan.

They’ve gone on to play with the likes of US Girls, Twerps, Blank Realm and Crayon Fields, and played Brisbane Laneway Festival in February.

Goon Sax songs are both immediately charming and deceptively deep – Sweaty Hands examines a point in a relationship where you’re seen at your worst, while Telephone addresses the heartbreaking realisation that nothing you offer your crush is enough.

The Goon Sax are already masters at pairing teen microdrama with pop sophistication – but clearly, Up To Anything is just the beginning!

1. Up To Anything
2. Sometimes Accidentally
3. Target
4. Telephone
5. Home Haircuts
6. Boyfriend
7. Sweaty Hands
8. Susan
9. Making The Worst
10. Anyone Else
11. Maggie
12. Ice Cream (On My Own)