Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
100% Dynamite: Ska, Soul, Rocksteady & Funk in Jamaica / Various 2xLP Vinyl
On Sale

100% Dynamite: Ska, Soul, Rocksteady & Funk in Jamaica / Various 2xLP Vinyl

Regular price
100% Dynamite: Ska, Soul, Rocksteady & Funk in Jamaica / Various 2xLP Black Vinyl

“100% Dynamite is among the finest compilations ever assembled.” The Quietus

This is a new one-off limited-edition special edition yellow coloured vinyl pressing of Soul Jazz Records’ seminal reggae meets funk and soul collection. 100% Dynamite is the cornerstone of Soul Jazz Records’ releases and launched their long-running series of highly-regarded reggae albums.

This album is the fully expanded version and comes with download code.

Since the album’s original release,100% Dynamite has become a cornerstone of funky reggae music. Eighteen killer tracks that show the influence that American Jazz, Funk and Soul music had on Jamaican Reggae.

The album was Soul Jazz Records first foray into the mighty vaults of Studio One and many of the tracks featured come from the legendary label and the expanded edition features seminal tracks from the greatest Jamaican producers – Clement Dodd, Lee Perry, Winston Riley (Techniques) and many more.

100% Dynamite features come serious and heavyweight Jamaican funk by Jackie Mittoo, The Upsetters and Toots & The Maytals, alongside the cream of Jamaican jazz musicians such as Tommy McCook, Cedric Brooks and Lennie Hibbert. Also included here are killer Reggae versions of USA Soul classics including Marlena Shaw’s ‘Woman of the Ghetto’, Aretha Franklin’s ‘Rocksteady’, Syl Johnson’s ‘Is It Because I’m Black’, William DeVaughan’s seminal ‘Be Thankful’ and more.

Jamaican/USA influences went both ways and included here are many cornerstone reggae songs that cross into the worlds of both hip-hop and punk worlds – check Brentford All Stars massive ‘Greedy G’, the basis for Boogie Down Productions’ ‘Jack of Spades’, and Willie Williams’ ‘Armagideon Time’ later covered by The Clash.

"The outstanding compilation of reggaefied soul, funk and jazz nuggets.” MOJO

‘Soul Jazz’s seminal dive into reggae’s dusty grooves. This album kickstarted a dynasty - the 100% Dynamite series is a rewarding guide to reggae's most infectious back pages.” Irish Times

“A compilation never resting on its laurels, 100% Dynamite fuses an intelligent reminder of a genre's roots and influences with some unabashedly cracking tunes.’ Allmusic

“The compilation that started it all. This is flava central, hands down one of the best comps to own for any music head that has a soul.’ Turntable Lab’

"Compilation of the month" MUZIK

"Brilliant" TIME OUT


1. Willie Williams – Armageddon Time
2. The Maytals – Night and Day
3. The Marvels – Rock Steady
4. The Upsetters – Popcorn
5. Bunny Clarke – Be Thankful
6. Tommy McCook – Green Mango
7. Brentford All Stars – Greedy G
8. Lennie Hibbert – Real Hot
9. Horace Andy – My Soul
10. Johnny Osbourne – We Need Love
11. Bunny Clarke – I Love The Way You Love
12. Jackie Mittoo – Stereo Freeze
13. Phyllis Dillon – Woman Of The Ghetto
14. Cecric Im Brooks – Give Rasta Glory
15. Alton Ellis – Son Of Man
16. Sound Dimension – Granny Scratch Scratch
17. Lloyd Robinson – Cuss Cuss
18. Sound Dimension – Drum Song
19. Ken Boothe – Is It Because I'm Black