Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Grace Cummings / 'Ramona' LP Green & Cream Splatter Vinyl (D2C Exclusive)
On Sale

Grace Cummings / 'Ramona' LP Green & Cream Splatter Vinyl (D2C Exclusive)

Regular price

Grace Cummings 'Ramona' LP / Green & Cream Splatter Vinyl (D2C Exclusive)

Ramona is a work of raw truth rendered in its most resplendent form. In a departure from the self-produced approach of her 2019 debut Refuge Cove and its 2022 follow- up Storm Queen—an LP whose abundant praise came from the likes of MOJO, who noted that Cummings “unleashes her psyche in a voice of throaty, Diamanda Galás-style intensity”—the Melbourne-based artist worked with producer Jonathan Wilson and dreamed up a lavishly orchestrated

sound that fully accommodates the depth and scope of her vocal prowess. With its visceral reflection on grief and self- destruction and emotional violence, Ramona brings a stunning new grandeur to Cummings’ music while refusing to soften or temper its unbound humanity. Recorded at Wilson’s Fivestar Studios, Ramona came to life in collaboration with a stacked lineup of musicians that includes harpist Mary Lattimore and string arranger/multi-instrumentalist Drew Erickson (Weyes Blood, Mitski, Lana Del Rey).

Also an accomplished stage actor, Cummings imbues all of Ramona with an unbridled theatricality—an element on glorious display in the album’s title track. “I wrote that at a time when I wasn’t doing well and had the sense that other people saw me as a weak little bird,” says Cummings, who mined inspiration from Bob Dylan’s 1964 song “To Ramona.” “I didn’t want to be myself so I decided to be Ramona instead, full of intensity and melodrama. For me there’s a lot of safety in putting on a costume or a mask; sometimes it feels like the only way to express any true honesty or vulnerability.”

Cummings hopes that Ramona might provide her audience with a similar sense of relief and release. “A lot of the time the only way for me to process what’s happening in my life is to write about it,” she says. “So it’s a deeply personal record. But I hope that people come away from this album feeling like the songs were written just for them. Because they were, in a way. Watching the deeply personal evolve into something that’s shared by so many different people makes me feel less lonely in this world.


1. Something Going 'Round
2. On and On
3. I’m Getting Married to The War
4. Love and the Canyon
5. Work Today (and Tomorrow)

1. Everybody’s Somebody
2. Common Man
3. Without You
4. Ramona
5. A Precious Thing
6. Help is on its Way