Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Fucked Up / David Comes To Life LP Yellow Light Bulb Vinyl
On Sale

Fucked Up / David Comes To Life LP Yellow Light Bulb Vinyl

Sale price Regular price
Fucked Up 'David Comes To Life' LP Yellow Light Bulb Vinyl

In 2011, Toronto’s Fucked Up delivered an album that chafed the edges of punk rock’s conceptual boundaries –a set of songs that splayed freely into unexpected instrumentation, psychedelic drift, and situationist philosophy. Its ambition was limitless and its run time opulent.

Which is to say, they made a concept album.

On December 10th, Matador Records will celebrate the 10th anniversary of Fucked Up’s titanic 78-minute early ’10s masterpiece, David Comes to Life, with a limited-edition 2xLP reissue on lightbulb-yellow vinyl.

David Comes To Life is a story of lost love, global meltdown, depression, bombs, guilt and madness. Or is it? A modern-day morality tale set amid the dour backdrop of a British industrial town in the late ’70s, it’s a four-part play that follows the dark moods and inner psyche of the titular hero. At the same time, the reliability of the narrator gets called into question. The tables are turned, responsibility shifts, and the story goes meta. Of course,you could always ignore the backstory and just listen to a fiercely imaginative double album of blistering, melodic rock'n'roll shot through with all manner of psychic weirdness.


Act One
A1 Let Her Rest
A2 Queen Of Hearts
A3 Under My Nose
A4 The Other Shoe
A5 Turn The Season

Act Two
B1 Running On Nothing
B2 Remember My Name
B3 A Slanted Tone
B4 Serve Me Right

Act Three
C1 Truth I Know
C2 Life In Paper
C3 Ship Of Fools
C4 A Little Death

Act Four
D1 I Was There
D2 Inside A Frame
D3 The Recursive Girl
D4 One More Night
D5 Lights Go Up