Shopping Cart
Shop Now
Search for products on our site
See more
Blue Poles  /  CD
On Sale

Blue Poles / CD

Regular price

Blue Poles is fifth album from one of the most singular characters in Australian music.

Sentimental and mournful, sardonic and surreal. Jack Ladder brings that towering and tender baritone to bear on tales of beauty, love, hope and redemption.

Once again a crowd of musical influences – the kitchen sink drama of 60's Scott Walker, the frenetic assault of early Brian Eno, the existential country of Will Oldham and the cold confidence of 'I'm Your Man' era Leonard Cohen – combine on the album to form an idiosyncratic sound that could be only his.
"Blue Poles is the most melodic thing I've ever done," he reflects. "I really pushed myself into some uncomfortable places."
'Blue Poles' was recorded at Oceanic Studios in Sydney, engineered by Tim Whitten (The Necks, The Church, The GoBetweens) and mixed in Los Angeles by Noah Georgeson (Devendra Banhart, Joanna Newsom). Once again he's joined by The Dreamlanders, Australia's very own misfit supergroup made up of Donny Benet on bass, Laurence Pike on drums and this time two guitarists – Kirin J Callinan and Ben Hauptmann.

Track List 

  1. Can't Stay
  2. Dates
  3. Susan
  4. I.N.M
  5. Blue Mirror
  6. Tell It Like It Is
  7. White Flag
  8. Feel Brand New
  9. Merciful Reply